Attempting to roast coffee beans with stirring popcorn popper

Ok so I read that you can roast your own coffee….I know shocking!🙀(sarcasm)

Anyway, I decided to try but I don’t have a coffee roaster and well I like to experiment and read that a popcorn popper will work as well…(I obviously have one of those)
So I checked out prices for green coffee beans…. Expensive because either considered “gourmet” thus = expensive or fairly priced but the shipping was horrendous (for my limited budget)…. So I did what I always do when I’m broke but want to experiment with a new hobby, I went to eBay and found

20130204-175157.jpg

I liked the price, the 12ounces and the description so I bought it.
It arrived today…. Excellent shipping time!
I set right out to roast…..

20130204-175328.jpg

20130204-175337.jpg

20130204-175342.jpg

I tried following this website www.sweetmarias.com- color guide. As you can see the pics didn’t match theirs but they probably used a real coffee roaster….. I did not…. I think they were some where around 1st crack. I didn’t want to burn the coffee beans and supposedly the darker you get the more “roast” flavor you get and less “origin/original” flavor of the bean….
We shall grind up some tmw for a taste test.

Coffee roast colors
https://www.sweetmarias.com/library/content/using-sight-determine-degree-roast

My final result

20130204-175853.jpg

The original unroasted coffee beans are in the glass bowl.

Leave a Reply

