Laying eggs

So this evening as I try to steal a few moments alone in a
steaming hot bath my husband comes in and says my oldest is crying
because he needs me. I told my hubby to let my 4 yr old in. He
brought his dinosaurs and we started to enjoy our soak. Now this
boy loves dinosaurs and has rented any Dino movie we can find, so
of course he knows that dinos lay eggs. So we were talking and one
thing lead to another and we talking about how boys and girls have
different private parts… Yes I said penis and vagina to my son
and that eggs and babies come out of a mother’s body. When he said
how? I said through the vagina. He looks up at me and says “but
babies are too big”… Don’t I know it kid, don’t I know it! I’ve
come to the conclusion that I’m not going to shy away from the sex
talk eith my books. We live in to risky of a time to take chances
without good info and I want our kids to feel comfortable talking
to us about anything… Even sex or genital issues. When I was a
kid I only got an age appropriate book from my parents and then the
typical abstinence speeches in youth group. I learned most of what
I know from reading romance novels… Talk about setting ones self
up for disappointment.

Leave a Reply

