non-conformist quotes and my thoughts

Conformity Quotes, Sayings about Nonconformity, Thinking for Yourself, Peer Pressure.

http://quotegarden.com/conformity
I’m not sure I want popular opinion on my side – I’ve noticed those with the most opinions often have the fewest facts. ~Bethania McKenstry

Don’t think you’re on the right road just because it’s a well-beaten path. ~Author Unknown

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind. ~Dr. Seuss

A man must consider what a rich realm he abdicates when he becomes a conformist. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Nature made us individuals, as she did the flowers and the pebbles; but we are afraid to be peculiar, and so our society resembles a bag of marbles, or a string of mold candles. Why should we all dress after the same fashion? The frost never paints my windows twice alike. ~Lydia Maria Child

Do not follow where the path may lead. Go, instead, where there is no path and leave a trail. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocrities. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary. ~Albert Einstein

In all affairs it’s a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted. ~Bertrand Russell

_____

I’ve never thought of myself as a non-conformist. In fact, most of my life I’ve spent either trying to be what others want me to be or pursuing what I thought I was supposed to be. i always wanted to be the pretty girl. The popular girl. The smart girl. The party girl. The responsible girl. [instead i was the conflicted girl, never certain of myself or other people’s perception of me]

Now as a parent I find myself often times outside the norm of mainstream USA. I’m slowly becoming more eco-friendly, more healthy I’m extended breastfeeding my 2 yr old and I’ve left both my boys intact/uncircumcised. These are things I never even considered before I had kids. I’ve always been the cheap-skate and cheap food is highly processed
and packaged. I always assumed I’d bottle feed… its all I ever saw and I thought everyone circumcised little boys. I just thought those things were what people did. i didn’t realize there were options… options that I’d consider better… normal…natural

Who knew that aromatheraphy and herbal extracts and remedies would appeal to me….[am I a witch?? hehehe] [gotta stir the brew] Who knew I’d be searching food labels for the dreaded red 40, yellow 5 or blue 1….? Who knew I’d be a facebook addict and join fan pages devoted to green living and human rights? Who knew I’d be the crazy lady on facebook? hehehe Actually, everyone always knew I’d be crazy….

Sometimes, I find that I feel so different from everyone around and and I wonder where I fit in and if I fit in anywhere… I’m not a granola hippie mom and I ‘m not a mainstream mom. I don’t always think outside the box but often times I’m climbing out of it for a quick run around some barely used paths.

Often times, I still want to be what everyone else wants me to be or I want to be doing what everyone else is…. However, though I know I shall always fall short of their expectations I know that my potential to be my crazy assed self is limitless.

The blessing of never quiet fitting in is that I never have too.

I cannot judge others for I am the least but I can “not” agree with them and know how I would do differently or should do differently.

[i have not proof read this as I have to pick the boys up from daycare]

20110503-080437.jpg

Leave a Reply

