3 years old

Three years ago today my youngest was born. He was five days over his estimated due date. I had contractions in the middle of the night, I got nervous and I called the doctor and they had me come in around four in the morning.
I have never actually been in labor before my first child was induced due to toxemia.
Despite contractions I stayed only fingertip dilated until about 11-12… I eventually gave in and allowed pitocin and an epidural and the breaking of my water. Luckily, this time I had snuck in Gatorade and crackers.
He was born at about 5:15 PM after about four pushes.
Weigh 8 lbs. 14 oz.
He was a marshmallow!
Poor thing has bruises all over his face and the vessels in his eyes…. I don’t know if this was due to the Pitocin or the fact that he was out in 4 to 5 pushes.
This time this day did not get even one bottle of formula and thankfully people paid attention to his chart and knew that I was not going to cut him and nobody asked me this time. Since I wasn’t on any magnesium sulfate like last time, my baby stayed in my room the entire time. And when the nurses were gone I can’t slept with him in the day because that is the only way I know how to sleep with an infant.
I was ready to leave after 24 hours but the hours of operation for leaving wasn’t Landlock 3 o’clock so we had to stay until the next next day so I think that was the 13th that we were finally able to leave.

20120111-083915.jpg

Leave a Reply

