Child left at chuck e cheese at her 5th birthday party

http://underachievingdomesticgoddess.blogspot.com/2012/03/no-child-left-behind-chuck-e-cheese.html?m=1

turned on the news this morning and heard the above story about the 5 year old celebrating her birthday party at Chuck E. Cheese. Stop there. Ok – first of all, I am not a huge fan of Chuck E. Cheese. My oldest had been there several times as a child. I like to think because I was younger, more resiliant, and a little more energetic and willing to follow him around through the germ infested tunnels and snot covered games. It brought him so much joy that I just dealt with it and suffered through it for an hour or so until I couldn’t take it anymore and packed up. My two youngest have NEVER been to Chuck E. Cheese. They have no idea what they are missing and I am ok with that. The idea of chasing three boys around, even if my husband is with me does NOT sound fun to my ever-frazzled nerves. Does this make me a horrible mom? Perhaps. Am I mother of the year? No. I’m ok with that. The mere thought of inviting every pink eye-hand-foot-and-mouth-strep-throat-viral-infection-galore into my home to ruin the next two weeks of my life is completely idiotic to me. I avoid it like the plague, because of things like the plague. We all know not everyone makes the best choices (like bringing a sick child to infect others; don’t get me started). That being said. WHAT THE HELLLLLL IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE????

http://articles.cnn.com/2012-03-09/us/us_texas-forgotten-child_1_birthday-party-restaurant-staff-restaurant-worker?_s=PM:US

A restaurant worker alerted police to the abandoned child at 10:50 p.m. Thursday, but the mother did not report her missing until 7:50 a.m. Friday, Mink said.
The woman left the restaurant at 10 p.m. with her other nine children and it wasn’t until she was getting them ready for school the next morning that she realized her mistake, Mink said. He added that the mother, a relative and a friend were the only adults involved in hosting the event, which was attended by 19 children

20120312-084324.jpg

Leave a Reply

