French Lentils with ginger, turmeric and a cinnamon stick

lentil 1: http://amateurgastronomer.com/index/lentils-turmeric/

lentil 2: http://www.ramblingtart.com/2010/04/01/splendid-sunshine-and-spiced-lentil-soup-with-lime-and-cinnamon/

So mixed these 2 yesterday:
My recipe as follows:
1 thin slice of ginger (pencil width or less)
7 smashed cloves of garlic
1 half onion
3/4 tsp of turmeric
1/2 teaspoon of cumin
3 cups water
1-2 cups beef broth
1 1/4 cup of french lentils (I might have done 1 3/4 cups but mistake but I was trying to follow the first recipe but I may have misread)
1 cup of frozen peas and carrots …..
2 tbsp or more of ev olive oil.
Salt to taste
Lime juice to preference
1 cinnamon stick

Sautéed onion, garlic and ginger in oil
Added water, French lentils, turmeric, cumin, cinnamon stick….. Boiled and simmered…20-30 mins- covered
Removed cinnamon stick…. Turned off stove because I started dinner too early

2 hrs later….
I added more water, beef broth and a tad bit of salt and an extra dash of cumin and turmeric … Bring to a boil and simmer…

I served over basmati rice cooked in Swanson beef broth, salt and olive oil.

I like soupy lentils…. Add less water for drier lentils.
I put a 1/2 lid full of lime juice in my actual bowl of soup.

Leave a Reply

