Experiment kombucha part 1

Kombucha

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kombucha

Kombucha is an effervescent fermentation of sweetened tea that is used as a functional food.

Sometimes referred to as a “mushroom” or “mother”, the kombucha culture is actually a symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast (SCOBY).

…….

Ok, I don’t have a scoby but I do have tea, raw honey and wine yeast….
Since a scoby is a symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast I figure I can experiment using raw honey (source of bacteria) and wine yeast (source of yeast) (I will be using Pasteur red active dry wine yeast)

Do I think this will work? No! But experiments are fun

20130212-113144.jpg

20130212-113201.jpg

20130212-113224.jpg

2 individual tea bags
3 tablespoons raw honey
3 cups of hot tap water (run through keurig)

Let cool to warm

Added 1/4 tsp yeast

(Separated out some liquid to mix with the yeast… Too hot kills yeast)
(Crap- I forgot to let the main mixture cool more before adding my yeast mixture- double crap!!!) (I may have killed my yeast…. Won’t know until later)

Wait and see…….

20130212-115132.jpg

20130212-115136.jpg

My improvised airlock that I use when making wine/hard cider
Basically a baggie over the mouth of the jar tied loosely to prevent dust, bugs and other yuckies from getting in but allowing for fermentation.

…..
Again I don’t think this will work but hey it’s worth a try…..

I think at best it with make sweet tea wine
http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/f6/possible-advisable-make-wine-sweet-tea-6712/
——

Fermenting 1/2 day

20130212-195655.jpg

Leave a Reply

