Tail docking, Sounds like a circ argument…

This link here are people actually discussing the comparisons circumcision and tail docking

My 6 year old has been watching “too cute” which is a tv show about puppies and kittens. He asked why some dogs have no tails. I said some are born with them short and some are cut off.
This caused me to look for info and I can across this forum. I’m heart sick…

Sounds like the circumcision argument but about dog tail and ear cropping.
Sigh….
http://www.gentledoberman.com/forums/doberman-pinscher-discussion/doberman-pinscher-ears/crop-and-dockor-not

It is not painless, but it is not the huge deal that people make of it either. Tails and dewclaws are done by 5 days of age – if later, they have to be done by a vet with pain meds. Puppies are born with an incomplete nervous system – docking of tails and dews IS felt, but as soon as the puppy is returned to the whelping box, they are totally over it. Part of their issue is the fact that they are being restrained on their back and they really don’t like that.

Honestly, i am not exaggerating one single bit, but Ziva didnt seem to feel as much discomfort after her ears were cropped and posted than she did when she was spayed. That’s the truth. Maybe she was in a small percentage of pups that didn’t have any adverse reaction, I dont know. She didn’t have to wear a cone, because she didnt bother her ears. She played and ran and jumped and acted as if nothing at all had been done to her ears. When she was spayed, though, she layed around for almost two days, looking as pathetic as possible and walked in a way that I knew she was uncomfortable….she took pain meds for two days immediately after her spay surgery. No pain meds were needed after her ear crop. Yes, like mentioned already, tails and dewclaws are cut when the puppy is 3 – 5 days old (my vet prefers 3 days) before the nerve endings have completely developed in those areas. It’s quick and they heal fast, and momma dobe takes such good care of the babies, they forget about their little procedures almost immediately upon returning to their mother.

As Fitzmar said, being restrained is far more upsetting to little pups about to be docked than anything else. When I’ve had litters docked, it was noteworthy that very few of the puppies ever reacted at all at the actual moment of docking.

I’d never say that cropping was pain free, but I’ve never seen it slow a puppy down for a red hot minute, either. They’re back playing and being puppies almost as soon as you bring them home from the vet the day they get it done.

In this day and age, cropping is done for primarily cosmetic reasons, and I feel no need to justify that to anyone. It’s a decision that should be left to me and my vet.

I’m not interested in owning anything but a cropped/docked doberman.

Most surgeries are not pain free – but in young puppies, the pain is gone quickly and they forget quickly….. just as a baby boy does not remember being circumsized.

I’ve cropped two litters and seen them right after cropping – they are running around like a herd of shriners playing and eating within hours of being cropped. Getting used to the cup on their head takes about one day and then they pretty much ignore it. I use BFI powder for the edges of the ears – helps with itching and dries them up quickly.

It really amazes me that so many people make such a big deal about cropping and docking when they apparently think nothing of all the cosmetic enhancements the people all around them do…. tatoos, body piericing, nose jobs, boob jobs, etc, etc….. Done correctly, it is really not a big deal to the dog.

This is my last litter within a couple of days of being cropped:

A lot of the people who spout off about cropping and docking are totally clueless about the whole procedure.

It is not painless, but it is not the huge deal that people make of it either. Tails and dewclaws are done by 5 days of age – if later, they have to be done by a vet with pain meds. Puppies are born with an incomplete nervous system – docking of tails and dews IS felt, but as soon as the puppy is returned to the whelping box, they are totally over it. Part of their issue is the fact that they are being restrained on their back and they really don’t like that.

I am pretty neutral on this topic. Meaning, I don’t really care either way, and would never base any of my decisions around whether or not a dog was cropped/docked. If it is done properly, at the right age, it is so NOT cruel. I think most people don’t understand what’s involved, they just imagine someone taking a pair of scissors to a dogs tail. But the reason why it is done at 2-3 days old is because it is all soft, and it’s done before it hardens. Ears as well, are done at a young age, before the cartilage stiffens, so it’s a pretty minor procedure.

I guess what I’m saying is that tail docking and ear cropping are most important for working dogs. However, there are benefits to cropping/docking even our pets and that it’s not purely cosmetic. Also, the dog was envisioned at creation as being a dog with a bob tail and docked ears, that’s what the standard has called for for a hundred years. Therefore, if we want to have our dobes cropped or docked, people should leave us alone and let us do it.

—–
oh I’m sick…. Heart sick even my 6 year old said it was cruel. He said “but it’s only a puppy, why?”

20130816-210554.jpg

20130816-210559.jpg

20130816-210603.jpg

20130816-210926.jpg

this link leaves me with a sick feeling. again I hear the pro-circumcision arguments in these statements about tail and ear docking..

http://www.zimfamilycockers.com/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2664&start=0&view=print

I hope this isn’t a hot topic here. I really couldn’t care either way…. though a nubby is damn cute. I often wonder if these people shouting animal cruelty for cosmetic purposes, circumcise their human male kids.

20130825-222013.jpg

Leave a Reply

