Moralogous: don’t hit ’em with your best shot

http://www.moralogous.com/2014/02/16/dont-hit-em-with-your-best-shot/

Don’t hit ‘em with your best shot
Making your strongest case against circumcision may actually be counter-productive.

by Lillian Dell’Aquila Cannon

Arguing against routine infant circumcision was the context in which I first learned of cognitive dissonance. It was in the infancy of my intactivism when I first noticed that the logical medical and sexual arguments against circumcision often did nothing to persuade people to not do it to their own children. It was a mystery to me why perfectly intelligent, rational-seeming people would defend cutting off healthy tissue from an unconsenting child even when they had learned the facts about circumcision, and could no longer rely on the justification of the myths surrounding it. Being more of a thinker than a feeler myself, I naively thought that when I told people that circumcision violated a child’s right to his whole body, they would easily change their minds, because this was what worked for me. Unfortunately, I was wrong.

… Read more…..
http://www.moralogous.com/2014/02/16/dont-hit-em-with-your-best-shot/

Leave a Reply

